Pleasure in pain

So for the last week I’ve been waking up with headaches, going to bed with headaches, and generally finding myself aching at various points inbetween. This evening was no exception, and I actually had to stop crafting because the pain was so bad. Shocking, right?

That’s when I remembered that I had *the* most amazing thing stuffed down the back of my wardrobe: –

[amazon_carousel widget_type=”ASINList” width=”600″ height=”200″ title=”The best cheap massage, this side of Thailand” market_place=”GB” shuffle_products=”False” show_border=”False” asin=”B0014IBVB4″ /]

I kid you not, this shiatsu cushion is amazing!

I’ve always loved a really firm massage (wipe those dirty thoughts away please!) But outside of Thailand you have to either pay big bucks, or suffer the self-massaging technique – it never works does it?! Ask anyone else to try and massage the pain away, and you lie their worrying they might snap their own wrists if you ask them to push any harder.

Essentially, this piece of kit is just two sets of two nodules rotating in alternate directions, with some infra-red thrown in for good measure. Whilst other massaging chairs and cushions leave you wondering when the really good bit will begin (only it never does), this thing pushes like a desperate woman in the last stages of labour (but then what would I know – I had to have a c-section). Seriously though; it is relentless. You simply shift yourself about to work those really knotted areas and let this thing work its magic. I find this best when I lie on it, but you can push your own weight onto the massager as much or as little as you feel comfortable with.

Just like those really tiny Thai ladies who you’d never believe had such force in them, this little cushion will move your bones. OK, maybe not bones then – but you know what I mean. It makes you have those clicking noises in your shoulder, which hurt like crazy but also feels sooooo good.

Normally I’d expect to use something like this and be thinking ‘please don’t stop now, it’s just starting to make a difference’. With this little fella, as we approach the 20-minute automatic cut-off I’m mostly thinking, ‘Yeah, I think that might be enough pain now.’ It’s a good pain of course, but it is still pain.

On a couple of occasions I’ve gone hardcore and turned it right back on again, but I tell you now, you *will* feel it tomorrow. Your over-massaged areas will throb and ache like you’ve spent all day at the gym. Trust me when I say that this turns off after twenty minutes for a reason.

Overall, this is one of those gadgets that you might buy on a bit of a whim, and it may just get forgotten for a few months or so. But when you finally come to use it; you will be so glad you forked the cash.

Just like I’ve said in Chapter 36 – we could all do with a bit of pampering now and again, which makes this piece of kit always justified.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

