Easy Oaty Appleberry Crumble

Judging by the little numbers that keep creeping up on our bathroom scales, it’s pretty obvious that I like nice food. Stick me in M&S with a dine-in offer, and I’ll be happy for at least an hour. ‘Should I choose the steak? The profiteroles look nice. How about the crumble?” – all the food looks so appealing that it makes deciding near impossible.

Then one day I decided to try and make my own crumble. I kid you not – desserts haven’t been the same since! Why did no-one tell me how easy it is to make apple crumble?

Now I’ve always loved this particular baked dessert – from right back when my mum used to make apple crumble and I’d lick all the sugar off the top while she wasn’t looking. For some reason though, I’d never thought to actually make my own – until one day we went to a pick-your-own farm and came home with more fruit than we could ever eat between us.

That’s when I decided to experiment, and came up with the most delicious recipe for apple and blackberry crumble (blackberries are optional). Here’s what you’ll need: –

For the Filling

2 apples
40g sugar
1 tbsp water
1 handful of raisins
1 tsp cinnamon
20 blackberries (or other fruit – optional)
 

For the Crumble

70g porridge oats
40g sugar
70g butter
60g flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)
 

Putting everything together to make this wonderful dessert is remarkably easy, and that’s what I love about it.

1) Preheat the oven to 180˚C (fan-assisted) if you want to eat straight away. Otherwise the crumble can be assembled, then cooked later.

2) Peel, core and cut the apple into bite-size chunks, then sling them into a medium pan with the sugar, water, raisins and cinnamon. I usually stir them over a low-medium heat for about 10 minutes, so the apple is just starting to soften but hasn’t turned into mulch.
This is down to personal preference of course, as I prefer crumble to have some bite to it. Otherwise I feel like I’m eating baby food.

3) Add the blackberries and stir in for a minute or so – harder fruits should go in the pan at the same time as the apples, while berries are added just for the end so they don’t liquify themselves.

4) Spread the fruit over the bottom of a shallow dish, and then start on the crumble.

5) For this you literally put everything into a mixing bowl and then squelch it altogether with your fingers. I am a big fan of cinnamon so I add some to the crumble too, but it can be left out if you’d prefer.

6) Bake for 15-20 minutes – or until the crumble is looking lovely and toasted.

Enjoy!

 

I’m entering my Easy Oaty Appleberry Crumble into the bakespiration challenge. Why not have a go yourself?

Find out more at http://www.stuckinthetree.co.uk/bakespiration

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

