Breakfast biscuit anyone?

BiscuitsWe got this free sample from Ocado today. To me, this one biscuit emphasises just how difficult diabetes is to manage – and how very misleading all these ‘healthy’ alternatives actually are.

These are marketed as a ‘breakfast biscuit’, but just ONE biscuit contains 11g of sugar – which is roughly 3 teaspoons. And who could seriously eat just 1 biscuit for breakfast and nothing else? Wash it down with a glass of orange juice and you’ve basically just had 2/3 of your advised daily intake – TWO THIRDS! – in what (to me) sounds like a rather crappy breakfast! And if I gave that 1 biscuit and glass of juice to our 4-year-old? Well, that would be ALL her sugars done for the day. Seriously – on what planet is that healthy?? To give an amusing comparison, 1 of these so called breakfast biscuits has the same sugar content as 5 malted milk biscuits!


If I ate this now, I cannot even explain how ill I would feel. Hyperglycaemia is like a crippling exhaustion that makes you feel weak, grumpy and fuzzy all day long. Trust me, diabetes is NOT something you want to develop.


I know for sure that these last 27 weeks have changed everything about the way I look at food. Please my lovely friends, just look at the ingredients of what you are buying and don’t just trust the marketing campaigns!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

